John S. Knight, Press Club scholarship winners

Six area college students have been selected for scholarships in memory of longtime Akron Beacon Journal editor John S. Knight and public relations professional Ludel Sauvageot. A seventh student has received a scholarship from the Akron Press Club.
This year’s Knight scholars are Jessica Contrera of Indiana University and Kathryn Coduto, Lydia Coutre, Emily Inverso and Daniel Moore of Kent State University. Each receives a $3,000 scholarship.
The Sauvageot scholar, who also receives $3,000, is Samantha Martin of Baldwin-Wallace College.
Christine Morgan of Kent State University has been selected by the Press Club for a $3,000 scholarship.
The Knight scholarships are awarded by the John S. Knight Memorial Journalism Fund and the Sauvageot scholarship is awarded by the Akron Press Club.
The scholars will be recognized at a noon luncheon April 27 at the Martin University Center, 105 Fir Hill, at the University of Akron.
James N. Crutchfield, Knight Foundation trustee and former publisher of the Akron Beacon Journal, will be the speaker.
The lunch, sponsored by the Akron Press Club, is $20. For reservations, contact Mary Lou Woodcock at 330-996-3291.