Eight area students receive scholarships

Six area college students will receive scholarships in memory of longtime Akron Beacon Journal editor John S. Knight and public relations professional Ludel Sauvageot.

The Akron Press Club will award a seventh scholarship and an eighth will be given to commemorate the 175th anniversary of the Beacon Journal.

Each scholarship is for $5,000.

The winners are:

  • Samantha Ickes of Kent State University.
  • Vivian Feke of KSU.
  • Alexis Kreiner of Malone University.
  • Erin McLaughlin of KSU.
  • Matthew Merchant of KSU.
  • James Miller of KSU.
  • Zaina Salem of the University of Akron.
  • Raymond Strickland of KSU.

The scholars will be recognized at a noon luncheon April 24 at Greystone Hall, 103 S. High St. Beacon Journal columnist Bob Dyer will be the guest speaker.  Tickets for the lunch, sponsored by the Akron Press Club, are $20. For reservations, contact Kim Anderson of the Beacon Journal at 330-996-3291.