The Akron Press Club, John S. Knight Memorial Journalism Fund and Sojourner Truth Education Committee celebrated the future at a lunch honoring scholarship winners April 26 at Akron’s Greystone Hall. The 80 in attendance heard inspiring stories from the next generation of students studying journalism, public relations and communications. Each scholarship is worth $5,000.

This year the Press Club in collaboration with the Sojourner Truth Education Committee created a new scholarship worth $5,000. The inaugural Sojourner Truth Legacy Scholar is Demetrion Duvall of Buchtel Community Learning Center.

A total of 10 students are receiving scholarships from the Akron Press Club and the John S. Knight Memorial Scholarship Fund. Six area college students were selected for scholarships in memory of longtime Akron Beacon Journal editor John S. Knight and public relations professional Ludel Sauvageot. A seventh student received the Russ Pry scholarship from the Akron Press Club, named in honor of the Summit County executive who died in 2016. Through the generosity of Aileen Thong, a retired U.S. Army physician, in tribute to her father, the late Louis Gitsin Thong, the Akron Press Club awarded two more scholarships. The 10th scholarship is made possible by Elizabeth Bartz, president and chief executive of State and Federal Communications.

This year's Knight scholars are Mariah Alanskas, Alton Northup, Tanner Poe and Isabella Schreck, all of Kent State University; and Megan Williams of the University of Akron. The Sauvageot scholar is Natalie Feaser of the University of Akron. The Russ Pry scholar is Aden Graves of Kent State. The Thong scholars are Destiny Tores and Chloe Wilson-Henline of Kent State. The Bartz scholar is Macy Rosen of Kent State.